thank God I survived!

Life has never been more emotionally and mentally hard for me ever!

Juggling a marriage, medical school, and trying to stay sane has been one of the most difficult things that I have ever done in my life. Thank God for my husband and my dearest friend Haley.

Michael has been here for me through a ton of stuff but medical school has been a tough transition for both of us. In the past 5 months our life has went from both of us working 40-50 hours a week to moving clear across the state, starting medical school, and Mike deciding to go back to school.  So our family is made up of two full time students. Working 50 hours a week and exercising 20 hours a week, is so much easier than going to school for 35 hours a week, studying for 40-60 hours a week, and getting to see Mike for 5-10 hours per week. It is not imaginable how difficult medical school and life is until you are actually in the middle of it. My husband has been the most supportive and positive person in my life. He knows when he is suppose to just listen to me and when he is suppose to curse and get pissed off with me about the stupid stuff that happens in life.  I am so proud of him for deciding to go back to school, I am chasing my dreams he should be too!

Since moving to Tulsa I am so lucky to have found the 4 most amazing women that I go to school with. Haley, Natalie, Brooke, and Danielle are the most amazing women that I have ever known. They are strong beautiful women that are super intelligent. I cannot imagine going through this past 16 weeks without them. They have helped me figure out how to manage the medical school part of my life.  Haley, is smart, beautiful, and I am pretty sure I spend more time with her know than I ever imagined spending with anyone other than my husband. When starting medical school I knew I was going to become good friends with someone, but I feel like we have made a connection that takes stress, hard work, and the depth of the emotional pits of a person to form. Natalie, I can count on her to encourage me to keep going and always have a curse word or positive thing to say based on the way that both of our days have went. Brooke, she is an amazing person.  Being married and having children then having medical school and all of her study mates to manage amazes me! When I think I am dealing with a lot, I look at her and know that if she can do it any of us can. Danielle is fun & smart and a great person to listen to me bitch about stuff, plus is a great angry typist!  Going through my first medical school finals week with these ladies was a tough experience that I couldn’t have made it through without them. I love it that they were there for me when I broke down and cried my eyes out, I could be there for one of them to motivate her to work hard because I know that she could get to the next grade, and that I watched one of them get pissed off, curse more than I ever thought curse words could come out of her mouth, and watch another one of them be the compassionate down to earth woman that she can be.This past week made us reach into our hearts, pray to God, curse professors, and praise one another.

Thank God I survived, thank God all of us survived. Thank God for the man in my life and the men in their lives who bring us food, let us cry on their shoulders, and get more pissed off than we do when things do not go our way.

Leave a Reply

