never thought I needed a break so bad

There has never been a point in my life when I realized that I needed a break from the life that I have dreamed of and just down right begged for almost all of my life. Christmas break has been a savior for my brain, my body, and my spirit.

Going to see my family this weekend was amazing and getting to spend the last week with my husband was even better. I never realized how much free time I had in my life before medical school. Hopefully one day I will look back at this first semester of medical school and laugh with my spouse who made it through this with me.

I have found it very hard to share my husband with anyone while I am on my Christmas break. It makes me feel kind of selfish but then again I just think to myself, I can probably count on my fingers and toes how many hours I actually got to spend with him throughout the entire semester. So I feel that the 3 weeks and 6 days that I am out of school for should be all about us and us being together. Maybe that is a lot to expect but I just can’t get over that feeling of I want to stay connected to him and spend as much time with him as I can. Whereas, sometimes I feel like even though he got to see his friends and family all of the time throughout the semester he would rather spend time and hunt and help finish building a building that has been being worked on for about 5 months now. Sometimes I just want to say NO! can’t you just hang out with me!

I guess I should just get over it and deal with it but maybe not! Guess we will see how the rest of this break goes.

Leave a Reply

