spring is the perfect time to get things “running”

For the past 3 or 4 years running has become my outlet for many things and I might even call myself an actual runner. What does it mean to be a runner. Well I use to think the definition meant that I had to put anywhere between 50-80 miles on my feet per week to be any good at running and to stay in shape. I have ran 4 half marathons and in the last one that I ran I managed to set a PR under 2 hours coming in at 1:56. I thought this was one of my greatest physical achievements. Now that life has changed from being a fitness instructor and working out for a living where I got anywhere between 25-40 hours a week of working out under my belt I have developed a new definition of what makes me a runner.

Getting 3-4 runs in per week as a 1st year medical student and maybe a yoga class to keep my stretched out is a great way to keep me feeling in shape and to keep my cognitive thought actually working instead of sitting on my butt studying every single hour that I possibly can.  The other day as I was running and my nose wouldn’t stop running and I blew a “snot rocket” as another runner passed me made me feel like I was still truly a runner. It takes me at least 30 minutes to feel good and warmed up then I feel like I can run forever.

Whether it be in the early morning, an afternoon lunch, or trying to get a run in before the sun goes down; I tie my shoes tight, but not to tight so that my feet don’t go numb, get my running shorts on, I would rather where them even when it is 35 degrees outside, make sure I have a good sports bra, a great pony tail holder and head band to keep my hair out of my face. Stretch my legs, head phones in, and out the door that I go.

I am a wife, I am a medical student, I am a runner.

Leave a Reply

