searching for the meaning of Lent and Life

I have never given up anything for Lent in my life.

I have always thought that it would be a great idea and that it was something that I have wanted to do.

This year I decided that it was the year that I wanted to take my spirituality a step further.  I have spent some time finding out what lent should mean to me and how it could impact my life.

The purpose of Lent is to be a season of fasting, self-denial, Christian growth, penitence, conversion, and simplicity. Lent, which comes from the Teutonic (Germanic) word for springtime, can be viewed as a spiritual spring cleaning: a time for taking spiritual inventory and then cleaning out those things which hinder our corporate and personal relationships with Jesus Christ and our service to him. Thus it is fitting that the season of Lent begin with a symbol of repentance: placing ashes mixed with oil on one’s head or forehead. However, we must remember that our Lenten disciplines are supposed to ultimately transform our entire person: body, soul, and spirit. Our Lenten disciplines are supposed to help us become more like Christ. Eastern Christians call this process theosis, which St. Athanasius aptly describes as “becoming by grace what God is by nature.”

There are a few basic tasks that traditionally have been associated with Lent. Many of these have a long history. These are fasting, almsgiving, and prayer. In addition, reading the Scriptures and the Church’s Writings can help one grow during Lent.  (http://www.churchyear.net/lent.html )

Adding prayer and sacrifice of things that I think I need in my life will bring me closer in my relationship with Jesus Christ.

Make prayer part of my day, getting rid of things that I think I need in my life……

 

Leave a Reply

