catching it….

So they say when you are medical school any disease that you study or learn about you are probably going to think that you have it. Well low and behold last week Dr. Conrad started lecturing to us about Streptococcus. I believed he started those lectures on Thursday morning. I woke up Thursday morning and had a sore throat, crusty eyes, and my ears hurt. No big deal right, just allergies probably, I am not use to Tulsa allergens yet.

 

Well as I sat there in class I kept telling myself, you don’t have strep throat, you just have allergies. Even though Dr. Conrad did a pretty good job of convincing me that I probably had streptococcus A. As the day went on I did not feel any better. Well Thursday turned into Friday feeling bad, and then Saturday morning came. I could barely talk and my head just felt like crap. Bad allergies? a virus Mike and I have been sharing for about a month? or do I have strep?  Well took some Sudaphed had a throat lozenge in my mouth almost all day, and it started to feel a little better. At home I decided to put my clinical skills tools to use and the fact that I have taught Mike how to use them. He looked in my ears and throat and compared it to this picture and told me I think you have some of that on the back of your throat, plus soar ears, and swollen lymph nodes. Diagnosis from the husband: “You have strep & maybe stay arms length away from me, I don’t want you to share it with me.”

Well diagnosis from the doctor today, I have strep and here is a prescription for some antibiotics.

Mike maybe you should be the one going to medical school, or maybe you should just join the train. Its a great ride to be on. 🙂 I love you for putting up with me. This is the strangest case of strep throat I have ever had. No fever, I am still functioning as a real person, my throat and ears just hurt. Its a good thing I don’t think I need to be to sick this time in the semester. Please everyone keep your bugs to yourself and I will keep mine to myself for the rest of the semester.

Antibiotics, renal physiology notes, and now dinner with the husband. I shall feel better in the morning and finish my prescription so that I don’t make a super bug!

 

Leave a Reply

