Summer is Coming, this is very true….

This is very true. Thank you for sharing these stories. Dear 16 year old me, I wish someone would have made me wear more sunscreen when I was a lifeguard, when I was a child, after watching this, after looking at dermatology slides, being test over them, I wish someone would have told me dear 16 year old me, do you know you have a family history of melanoma?
Summer is close, check your skin, wear sunscreen, put lots of it on your kids, your friends, your husbands. If you can prevent it by wearing sunscreen everyday, why have to deal with all the hassel, sickness, and who knows what else melanoma could cause. This is what I learned partly as on OMS-I and from having one to many sunburns, I pray that I don’t develop melanoma.
Dear 16 year old me, why the hell didn’t you wear more sunscreen?

2 thoughts on “Summer is Coming, this is very true….

  1. skinpathonline

    Ah very true. Most solar damage to skin is done early in life. Studies have shown that intermittent sun damage to your skin in your early life is a significant risk factor when it comes to melanoma.

    Reply
  2. stevebetz

    As a pale redhead (is that redundant?), I wish I’d taken more care of my skin when I was younger, but I grew up in an age when people were putting baby oil on their skin to tan even more. Glad I didn’t do that.

    I’ve had a lot of things “liquid-nitrogened” off me over the last couple of years, and now I’m very pro-active about checking periodically for new spots.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

