The ending of the beginning

Last Tuesday officially marked the end of two years of book work, sleepless nights of studying for exams, and the classroom education to becoming a physician. On July 1st a new chapter begins: clinical rotations.
Looking back at the past two years I think I can officially say that it was the longest and the shortest two years of my life. From the first day of endless printing and crying about how there is absolutely NO way I could possibly learn or maybe even read all of this information, to meeting some of the best friends I have ever had, learning that it is possible to learn a ton of information, have some kind of social life, stay in a committed and loving marriage, and the minimal amount of sleep that I actually need to feel like a human being the next day and pass an exam.
COMLEX boards were the beast that had to be overcome before I could have a very tiny summer break. Trying to keep up with Doctors in Training during the semester, COMBANK, and the other Q-banks, plus perform well in my actual classes proved to be a difficult task. I managed to, well sorta. And to top things off a solid month of 8-14 hour days of studying. I would just like to thank my husband for putting up with me through all of this, thank the girl that made sure I had a stress outlet to discuss boards with, the guy that sent me so many questions to test my knowledge and for all the love, prayers, support, and encouragement that so many people provided me.
Vacation with the husband and parents has proven to be a much needed stress relief and fun.
I will be learning and working hard for the rest of my life, but I am so glad that the past two years are behind me. The next two years are going to be hard and challenging, but I am so excited to actually get to see medicine in action.

For now though I am going to enjoy my vacation.

2 thoughts on “The ending of the beginning

Leave a Reply

