Running (its what I do)

Running.  Lots of people run and everybody seems to run for different reasons.  This past year I accomplished one of my “bucket list” goals.  I ran my first full marathon. 26.2 miles is quite a bit, but it was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I didn’t realize how much more of a time commitment training for a full marathon was versus training for a half marathon. Right now all I have time to train for is another half marathon.

In the past 4 months my cousin and my sister have started running fun runs, 5k runs, and working out. Not only are they doing this to lose weight, but to improve their lifestyle and health.  Here are the things to remember about running and exercise in general:

  • the risk of dying decreases in those who exercise regularly 
  • essential component to any weight management program, it burns calories and may help burn calories even while not exercising. Diets can lead to muscle loss, but exercise can help build muscle mass
  • helps improve blood sugar control in people with diabetes and can help prevent or delay the onset of type 2 diabetes
  • helps decrease blood pressure
  • helps improve your lipid profile by decreasing triglycerides and raising HDL levels
  • reduction in stress after exercise
  • helps to prevent osteoporosis and the incidence of fracture
  • exercise can also help quit smoking

I am excited that my cousin and sister have decided to train to run their first half marathon in April.  The Big D Marathon (http://www.texasmarathon.com/) will be such a great run with not only my mom, but my cousin and sister to cross the finish line. To begin the new year my Nike plus app says that I have run 288.9 miles in the past 4 months (I didn’t make my goal of 300 miles by 1 /1/13, but plan to by the end of the week). I look at my training program I have chose: Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Half Marathon Program http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51132/Half-Marathon-Intermediate-Training-Program) and I should run 298 miles in the 12 week training program.  Since the marathon is actually 16 weeks away I think I will definitely break 600 miles on my running app.  I love tracking my miles, it is personally rewarding.

Bobbi and I are going to keep each other accountable for every mile. Blogging about training, clinical rotations, and life will hopefully also keep me accountable for everything.

Leave a Reply

